General Sociology
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
General Sociology
Databases (Find Articles and Reports)
(TRIAL) Brill Books and Journals Online 
⚖️ The trial includes access to all Brill ebooks & ejournals. Let us know what you think about this trial. Access ends 12/31.
Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences.
Search with your keyword at the left under Refine Search > All. A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.
Non-UWest patrons: Alternative access.
Digital Commons Network
Includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work. A large part of this database includes articles on social and behavioral sciences.
HeinOnline Social Justice Suite
Specializing in the analysis of laws related to social justice topics such as
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law,
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America,
- Civil Rights and Social Justice,
- Open Society Justice Initiative,
- LGBTQ+ Rights.
IssueLab
"Collecting, connecting, and sharing knowledge about critical social issues." Includes gray literature such as policy papers, reports, and proceedings.
OSF Preprints 
A preprint network that contains articles from various subjects that are unpublished but uploaded to preprint servers to make their findings immediately available and receive feedback before submission to journals.
Pew Research Center
"...a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
ProQuest Research Library (All ProQuest)
This database includes articles from journals such as Contemporary Sociology, Economics & Sociology, Qualitative Sociology, etc.
Social Science Research Network
This database includes published articles, preprints (unpublished articles made immediately available online to receive feedback before submission to journals), working papers, and other grey literature. Research network subscriptions and follow features may require personal accounts.
The Society Pages
"...presenting brief discussions of compelling and timely imagery that span the breadth of sociological inquiry."
Related Periodicals (Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers)
Statistics
GSS Data Explorer
"Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has been monitoring societal change and studying the growing complexity of American society."
Google Public Data
Using public datasets and metrics from the US Census, World Bank, IMF, WTO and various international organizations, Google Public Data Explorer makes it easy to visualize comparisons of statistics between various countries.
The Williams Institute at UCLA School of Law
"The Williams Institute advances sexual orientation law and public policy through rigorous, independent research and scholarship, and disseminates it to judges, legislators, policymakers, media and the public. A national think tank at UCLA Law, the Williams Institute produces high quality research with real-world relevance." Research such as state censuses and quantitative analysis can be narrowed down by topic or US state.
Related Reports
Internet Trends Report
Since 2004, the Meeker Internet Trends report has looked at the global trends of internet use.
Observatory on Social Media
Research reports and papers on the use of social media, with emphasis on bots and misinformation.
